Skip to main content


Web accessibility helps people with disabilities perceive, understand, navigate, and interact with websites. It is a legal requirement that all websites be accessible, in order to provide equal access and equal opportunity to people with disabilities, in line with the Equality Act.

There are 13.9 million registered disabled people in the UK, so it’s essential to ensure that all Quilter websites meet the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG 2.1) standard at A and AA ratings.

This short video demonstrates why web accessibility is essential for people with disabilities.

There are many different types of disabilities to recognise including:

Visual impairment

  • Blindness
  • Low vision: macular degeneration, glaucoma, diabetic retinopathy, cataracts
  • Colour-blindness

Motor disabilities

  • Traumatic injuries: spinal cord injury, loss of or damage to limb(s)
  • Diseases and congenital conditions: cerebral palsy, muscular dystrophy, multiple sclerosis, spina bifida, ALS, arthritis, parkinson’s disease, essential tremor


  • Conductive hearing loss - due to damage etc
  • Neural hearing loss (nerve deafness)
  • High-tone hearing loss
  • Low-tone hearing loss
  • Deaf-blindness

Cognitive disabilities

  • Dyslexia
  • Attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD)
  • Brain injury: stroke, illness, traumatic brain injury (TBI), brain tumors, meningitis
  • Genetic disability: down’s syndrome, autism, dementia

Next steps

To find out more about accessibility testing you can read about how we test our digital content.